Shuffling and thoughts on design

Fancy, too bad it doesn’t feature Dart Vader.

As I have said a few times already, I know the design of Primal Pond is not quite perfect, but I am very very restricted by the locked-down WordPress engine. Thinking about hosting my own blog (somewhere around end of the month, most probably). Possibly still WordPress, hopefully the full number of features will satisfy my customization hunger. I can’t be bothered with making my own blogging platform for two reasons:

  • Why reinvent the wheel?
  • I don’t quite have the skills to reinvent the wheel anyway…

Yes, my web development experience is scarce. I am going to do something about it during the summer – a few web courses, possibly a book on design? Having my own hosting will also be useful here, to showcase my work and get feedback from my swarming followers…

Expect a very special post tomorrow! (yes, very special means possibly more meaningful)

2 responses to “Shuffling and thoughts on design

  1. What features are you looking for? I intially thought about designing my own webpage, but then realised I last did web page design when HTML was fresh and funky…

    That video is ace!

    • The minimal functionality I am looking for is the ability to change the theme at least a bit 🙂 I’d like to practice my HTML and CSS and I really enjoy the freedom to alter everything… to see the source! 🙂 (I’ve even gone to some extremes, I’m going to make a post about it soon…)

      What’s more, I’ve had a quick look on the plugins at http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/ and I am quite excited about all the cool things that can be done! (we are not strictly talking about functionality here, but more about endless possibilities – pure joy).

      The good thing is, everything can easily be exported from here and imported to somewhere else, so no information will be lost when I decide to do it.

Chit-chat

